Home > FAQ > What Insurance is Required?

What Insurance is Required?

Under Louisiana law, you must carry liability coverage on any automobile that you own. This coverage will pay for property damages or personal injury for which you may be legally responsible, up to your policy's dollar limits. In Louisiana, every vehicle must have a minimum of 10/20/10 liability limits. This means that those limits provide payments of $10,000 for bodily injury to one person, $20,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident, and $10,000 coverage for damage to someone else's vehicle or other property.

Liability insurance covers bodily injury or property damage that you, your family members, and other drivers driving your vehicle with your permission may have caused. You and your family members are also covered when driving another person's vehicle including rental private passenger vehicles. Company cars and other non-owned cars regularly available to you are not covered.

All information courtesy of: Louisiana Department of Insurance's Publication - Consumer's Guide to Auto Insurance